mother, i`m scared

Mother, I`m scared.

I`m scared of tomorrow’s darkness.

Scared of things unknown.

I`m scared, mother.

Dress my knee when I stumble on a foolish decision.

Call me back when I`m lost playing foul.

Press my shoulder: shake me up,

When I stare life, in blank.

Mother, I`m scared.

I need your warm lap, when I`m tired of chasing.

Need your saree tassel to knot, when I`m dead wrong.

Need you, to hide my face when all laugh at me.

Need your smile to assure and reassure me, to myself.

Mother, I`m scared.

Cuddle me, when I cry.

Pat me, when I`m right.

Please be with me, when sticks fall apart;

To say there is nothing to get scared:

As you always did.

.

..

PS: I’d penned a faint idea of this poem months back, and had no brave to publish it. It was some days before that I had an interview for a job the next day. I had hell things to prepare and this stubborn one dragged me off all that, pestered to add more lines to it. And it won.

They say, poems aren`t written, they just happen and when they happen we only reserve the right to pen them down.

22 thoughts on “mother, i`m scared

  1. yes i so much agree with U that they just happen and no matter what, they deserve a place at the right time and they surely will :) a good piece Vishu :]

  2. That was really a masterpiece!!!! I loved it!!!! You may have sacrificed your valuable time for the poem, and i must say, it’s WORTHY!!!!!

  3. I liked this poem and also liked these below two sentences very much:). It reminded me of my childhood days:).

    Call me back when I`m lost playing foul.

    Need you, to hide my face when all laugh at me.

What do you have to say?

