I’m a microbiologist

We learnt in school,
with Mugging in no dearth;
That, all living beings are
Rightful inheritors of earth.
.
That, every speck and nook of
Life has equal right to live,
And we human beings have no
Authority to make them leave.
.
Well, I’m a microbiologist:
I study germs.
And I don’t think we care
For the above said terms.
.
I nurture and grow microbes
In millions in a minute half.
Only to see culture patterns
And then steam them off.
.
While those poor germ-
Injected mice were dying,
I drew graphs on which
My experiments were relying.
.
We have efficient antibiotics
To kill: in no dearth.
But, I’m poked for all are
Rightful inheritors of earth.
.
Yes, I’m the culprit.
I’m a microbiologist.
.
Hubli
.
.
PS: It was an experiment in our lab to grow a particular microbe. The plates (glass plates on which they’re grown) got contaminated and some others encroached the space of our microbe. We had to bake these unwanted(?!) microbes in steam. The poem was the result of that guiltiness.
A film dialogue goes like, ‘cruelty is just a matter of percept’.
True  . . .?
4 thoughts on “I’m a microbiologist

What do you have to say?

